AEW Dynamite 3/25/2026
Last week's show is here: https://prowresblog.blogspot.com/2026/03/aew-dynamite-3182026.html
Excalibur, Tony Schiavone and Taz are on commentary.
#1 Contendership vs EVP Role - Swerve Strickland vs Kenny Omega
Nana trips KO and SS stomps KO. SS lariats him. KO is dropped throat first on the top rope and is facekicked. KO hurricanrana's him. KO slingshot plancha's him. SS' head is banged off the commentary table and the steps outside. KO chops him outside then flying knees him against the rails.
SS pulls on his chin inside. SS chops him. KO headbusters him on the mat then over the back bulldogs him for 2. KO 2nd rope moonsaults him for 2. SS hits spinning shots and is knee'd in the face. KO spinning heel kicks him from behind. KO pumping knees him from behind. They go up top and SS hits a top rope angle slam. We go to PiP break and return.
They trade forearms. KO dragon suplexes him twice. They fight on the apron. SS grabs the ref and low blows KO. SS boots him in the face. SS piledrivers him on the rail top. SS hits an orange crush for 2. KO rolls him up for 2. SS house call kicks him. KO hangs over the 2nd rope and is double stomped. SS top rope double stomps him for 2.
KO hits an elbow flurry in the corner. They trade shots. KO front kicks him down. SS powerslams him for 2. SS does KO's gun taunt and slaps him. KO pumping knees him twice. KO pumping knees him on the ropes. KO pumping knees him in the back. SS vertebreakers him for 2.
KO flying pumping knees him then pumping knees him on the ropes. KO hits an OWA and pins SS.
Thoughts: I was surprised to see Kenny win here and I don't know if that was the right call. It was all action without much of a story or logic. They did way too much here with top rope olympic slams and vertebreakers being kicked out of.
Will Ospreay does a promo. He says he has an issue with Pac and anyone who hangs with Mox. He says Pac is lying about them shaking hands. He says he will handle him personally if he wants to be loyal to Mox. He says he will alter Mox's life like he did with his and says he wants him at Dynasty.
The Death Riders (Jon Moxley, Daniel Garcia and Marina Shafir) vs Skyflight (Zayda Steel, Darius Martin and Dante Martin)
The heels hit the faces before it starts. Darius is sent into the rails. Dante is choked with a shirt. MS chest kicks Zay down. Zay flying headscissors her. Zay 2nd rope diving headscissors her. MS chest kicks her. Darius waistlock takedowns DG. DG double throat thrusts him.
DG takes a jumping lariat for 1. Mox boots Darius in the corner. Darius dropkicks him. Mox takes an atomic drop and is bulldogged onto Darius' knee. Mox is lariated over the top. The faces hit triple topes outside. We go to PiP break and return.
Dante hits gut shots on DG and takes a back elbow. Mox hits chops and Dante dropkicks him. Dante jumping knees DG. Dante then enzugiri's MS when she grabs him. Zay thesz presses MS and hits mounted shots. Zay tornado ddt's MS. MS catches Zay off the 2nd rope. Zay spinning forearms her. Yuta trips Zay from the outside. Zay pushes MS into the buckles and gets Mox crotched
Zay slaps DG. Dante and Darius hit corner attcks on DG then do a double elevated pedigree on him. Yuta flying knees Christopher Daniels outside. Zay hits a tope outside. DG sharpshooters Darius. Mox curbstomps Darius while he's in the hold and DG pins Darius.
Thoughts: It was fine. Zayda had a decent showing. This had a decent bit of men and women hitting each other. It got more than enough time and had a lot of fast paced action.
Mox gets on the mic. He tells Will Ospreay it's not nice to say mean things on TV. Mox says their issues aren't personal but if he wants a grudge match at Dynasty, he's got it. He tells him not to let his mouth get him in trouble until then.
The Young Bucks do a promo. They said they didn't sleep much since the PPV. But they learned to come back bigger, stronger and faster. They say their goal is to get the tag titles back.
Mike Bailey vs Rocky Romero
Mike wristlocks him off a cartwheel. RR hits knees to the gut then chest kicks. Mike chest kicks him down. Mike hits a kick combo and triangle moonsaults him outside. RR eye rakes him. Mike spin kicks him in the face and corkscrew kicks him. Mike hits an ultimate weapon and pins him.
Thoughts: Mike won as expected but it wasn't long. What we got of this was fine.
MJF comes out to talk. He says he hanged The Hangman. He says Page can't be world champ again now. Page says that was the easiest match of his career and an easy W. He says no one deserves to be champ more than him. He says nobody is on the level of the devil.
Kenny Omega comes out. He says to excuse the way he is dressed and smells as he had a match and asks what MJF's excuse is. He said he never put himself on a pedestal like MJF. He says if MJF is the devil, he's the god. Kenny said he never listened when he was told he needed time off. He says MJF was better than a 60%-80% Omega, but he's back now.
Kenny says he won't fall for MJF's hi-jinx. He says he's close to 100% and says he's better than MJF. Kenny offers a handshake and challenges him for Dynasty. MJF accepts and walks away without shaking his hand.
Adam Copeland and Christian Cage are interview. Cage says FTR chose to turn their backs on them and piledriver Adam's wife and him. Cope says he's an @sshole, but he knows of 2 bigger @ssholes. Cope says Cash threw away their friendship. Cope says he will find them and end their careers.
FTR and Big Stoke come out to talk. Stoke says not to worry about what Cope and Cage have to say, just what FTR has to say. Cash says they made choices and said Cope thought they would live in their shadow. Cash says he doesn't need Cope anymore. He says Stoke and Dax are his family now. He says this is FTR's time and his time has passed. Dax says Cope and Cage are a nostalgia act. He says what they did to her made Cope wonder if it's worth it. He says if he will drop Cope's wife on her head, what will he do to Cope?
The Conglomeration (Orange Cassidy and Roderick Strong) vs The Dogs (David Finlay and Clark Connors)
DF chops OC. DF and RS trade shots. RS chops CC. CC takes shots from the faces. CC takes an elbow drop + backbreaker combo. OC's top rope double crossbody is caught. He double hurricanrana's the heels out. OC's tope is caught by DF. OC is sent into the rail then pounced outside. RS is dropped on the rail then pounced. We go to PiP break and return.
OC fights off a double team. OC takes a throat thrust. OC stunners DF. RS stepup knees DF then dropkicks CC through the ropes. RS backbreakers DF then dropkicks CC. RS drops CC chest first on the mat. CC powerslams RS. RS hits shots on the heels. RS throws OC into DF then throws him into a ddt on CC for 2.
RS and DF trade. DF lariats him. OC top rope diving ddt's DF. OC is pulled out. DF pounces RS from the side. RS takes a high/low. OC hits a double dropkick on the heels. OC spinning ddt's DF. OC PK's CC. DF clips OC. OC takes a suplex + flying spear and is pinned.
Thoughts: It was the usual OC match where he goofs around and makes the heels look stupid. It's especially a problem when you have a more serious team like this. The Dogs may have won, but it wasn't the way they needed to win. They are coming across as a midcard team and I think that is where they stay.
Lena Kross and Megan Bayne do a promo. They say if Willow and Harley bit more than they can chew, they will choke. Bayne tells Harley to play with puppets. Meg says there's no second changes but another fatality.
Kyle Fletcher does a promo. He says he made his 3rd defense of his title and beat his mentor, Robbie Eagles. He says he's as good as he says he is. He says he's been too kind and is undefeated in singles in 2026. He says he's not happy about the arraignment with MJF. He says they need to get the title back to The Family and he's the man to do so.
He brings in Takeshita. He says he wants nothing to get in the way with what they have. Takeshita says nothing can get in their way, especially Okada. They then hug.
AEW Women's Title - Thekla (c) vs Mina Shirakawa
Mina spin kicks her in the gut and hair throws her. Mina beats her up outside and suplexes her on the floor. Mina slingshot tornillo plashes her inside. Mina is tripped into the ropes. Thek facekicks her on the ropes. Mina bridging ddt's her on the floor. We go to PiP break and return.
Thek pulls on her arms and stomps her. They trade shots. Thek does her spider pose and charges into a knee. Mina hits mounted shots on her. Mina slingblades her. Mina running back elbows her then top rope dropkicks her for 2. Mina does a neat double leg hold on Thek and Thek ropebreaks.
Thek slaps her and boots her in the head. Mina spinning forearms her. Thek spears her. Thek grabs her belt and the ref takes it. Thek then grabs brass knucks. Mina uraken's her. Thek hits her with the knucks and wins.
Thoughts: It wasn't much. I'm not sure why Thek really needed to cheat to beat Mina here. The finish was definitely weak. I liked Mina's double leg hold that she did. I've never seen that before.
Kenny Omega is interviewed. He will have a contract signing for his title match next week and if there's any touching, the match is off. Kenny says we are all used to how MJF operates. He says he hasn't challenged for the title in a while but now's the time. He says he feels his time and says he will be the guy to take the title off of him. Mike Bailey comes in. He says he admires him. He says he hopes he beats MJF and will be lining up for a shot if he does. He says he wants to shake his hand and they shake.
The Demand do a promo. Ric says he lost his temper last time. He says he was screwed by the company when he had to be in the battle royal and lost his title without being pinned or submitted. He says Omega got a title shot after winning one match. He says he beat Omega when they fought. He says he will beat the @ss of anyone who gets in their way.
No Countouts - Darby Allin vs Rush
Rush sends him out and into the rails. He bangs his head off the rails then kicks him. DA is sent into the rails again. DA's head is banged off a chair and he is sent into the steps. Rush forearms him and sends him into the rails. DA is then sent over the steps into the rails.
Rush's head is banged off the steps. Rush side steps DA's tope and DA goes into the floor. DA slaps him on the apron then is belly to belly suplexed to the floor. We go to PiP break and return.
DA is bloody and Rush stomps on him in the corner. Rush boots him in the face in the corner. Rush poses and DA jumps on him with punches. Rush headbutts him down. DA guillotines him over the top rope and rakes his back.
DA top rope coffin drop's Rush while he lays over the top rope. DA then topes him and goes hard into the commentary table. DA bites him and puts him in a chair. DA then top rope dropkicks him off the chair outside.
They trade shots. DA hits a code red for 2. DA takes an overhead belly to belly into the buckles. Rush flying forearms him. DA then rolls him up with a pin and wins.
Thoughts: I didn't like this one. Darby took tons of dangerous bumps here. None of them meant that much and in the end, he won with a quick pin attempt. I'm not sure how Darby survived this one. Rush lost as expected.
Mark Davis piledrivers Darby on the floor after. The Don Callis Family comes out with him. The Family beats up on Darby though Andrade argues with Don about getting involved. Lance Archer chokeslams Darby.
Overall thoughts: It was a wrestling heavy show as usual. Omega/Swerve had a lot of action and they did too much. I can't say I agree with Swerve losing either. We had an okay mixed trios match. Kenny did 3 promos here. Orange Cassidy's match had the same issues it always has with OC goofing around and making the heels look like fools. Thekla/Mina didn't get enough time. The main was wild with Darby taking a half-dozen ugly bumps. He didn't sell them much though and won with a simple roll up in the end. They gave away a decent card. The matches looked how you would think they looked just by looking at the line-up, but I'm just not a fan of AEW's style. I thought this was average. I'd give it a 5 out of 10 and wouldn't recommend it, though I'm sure people who really like AEW would enjoy this a lot.

No comments :
Post a Comment